Managing Users

Managing User Roles and Permissions

A role maps to a permission set. Each role has a specific set of asset management and functionality permissions in webMethods.io B2B. When you assign a role to a user, the permissions associated with the role gets assigned to the user.

The following diagram illustrates the relationship between Software AG Cloud and webMethods.io B2B to create and manage users:

By default, a Software AG Cloud-Tenant-Administrator maps to the Administrator role in webMethods.io B2B and a Software AG webMethodsioB2B-User maps to the User role in webMethods.io B2B.

webMethods.io B2B provides you predefined roles to assign to a user to perform specific role-based activities in webMethods.io B2B. Using webMethods.io B2B you can assign the following roles to new users:

Note: For a new user to log in to webMethods.io B2B product instance, it is essential that the Software AG Cloud-Tenant-Administrator assigns the webMethodsioB2B-User role to the new user.

Before You Begin

Important: After registering with Software AG Cloud, you become the default Software AG Cloud-Tenant-Administrator. Using these credentials, you can seamlessly switch between the subscribed applications.

Assigning a webMethods.io B2B Role

As a webMethods.io B2B Administrator, perform the following steps in webMethods.io B2B:

  1. Log on to webMethods.io B2B and go to Settings> User management > Users.

  2. In the Users tab, click next to the user you created in Software AG Cloud.

  3. In the Update roles dialog box, select the role you want to assign to the user. By default, a new user has only User role permission in webMethods.io B2B.

    Important: As an Administrator,

    • you cannot update your own roles.
    • you can assign Developer or User roles to other users.
    • you cannot update the roles of other users with Administrator role. You can update the roles of other Administrators from Software AG Cloud.

    You can assign Developer or User roles. The Roles tab describes each of the role permissions.

  4. Click Update.

Next Steps

Depending on the role assigned to the user, only those screens for which the role permissions are applicable are visible to the user. For example, a user with Developer or User role can only view the My information tab (Settings > User management > My information).

For detailed list of asset and functional-level permissions available for each role, see User Roles and Permissions.

User Roles and Permissions

The following table list the user roles and respective permissions:

Asset Management Permissions

B2B Assets Administrator Developer User
Channels
  • Create
  • View
  • Update
  • Delete
  • Create
  • View
  • Update
  • Delete

View

Partner Profiles
  • Create
  • View
  • Update
  • Delete
  • View
  • Update

View

Partner User
  • Create
  • View
  • Update
  • Delete
  • Create
  • View
  • Update
  • Delete

View

Business Documents
  • Create
  • View
  • Update
  • Delete
  • Create
  • View
  • Update
  • Delete

View

Processing Rules
  • Create
  • View
  • Update
  • Delete
  • Create
  • View
  • Update
  • Delete

View

Functional Permissions

B2B Assets Administrator Developer User
Transactions
  • View
  • Reprocess
  • Resubmit
  • View content
  • Edit content
  • Revert
  • View
  • Reprocess
  • Resubmit
  • View content
  • Edit content
  • Revert
  • View
  • Reprocess
  • Resubmit
  • View content
  • Edit content
  • Revert
Export Assets

Export assets as ZIP file

   
Import Assets

Import assets as ZIP file

   
Deployments
  • Create deployments
  • View deployments
  • Publish deployments
  • Apply deployments
  • Rename deployments
  • Delete deployments
  • Create deployments
  • View deployments
  • Rename deployments
  • Delete deployments
 
Purge
  • Create purge schedule
  • Edit purge schedule
  • Activate/deactivate purge schedule
   
Certificate Monitoring

View

View

 
Control Numbers
  • View the list of control number definitions for the partners and for the enterprise
  • Add control numbers for partners and enterprise
  • Update control number settings for partners and enterprise
  • Delete control numbers that are set for partners and enterprise
  • View the list of control number definitions for the partners and for the enterprise
  • Update control number settings for partners and enterprise
  • View the list of control number definitions for the partners and for the enterprise