User Management

User Management in Integration Cloud

You can add and manage users and access profile information from the User Management page in Integration Cloud.

Users: User personas who can access API Gateway and perform tasks. There are two user personas, API Gateway Administrator and API Gateway Provider depending on the access profiles assigned to the users. An API Gateway provider can perform functions depending on the teams and access privileges assigned.

Access profiles: The functional privileges that are grouped together to form an access profile, and associate LDAP or local groups to the access profile. User can create an access profile, add functional privileges to the profile, associate groups to access profiles, and delete an access profile.

For information on managing users and access profiles, see webMethods Integration Cloud Help.

User Management in Software AG Cloud

You can manage users and teams information from the Administration page in Software AG Cloud.

Users: User personas who can access API Gateway and perform tasks. There are three user personas, Cloud-Tenant-Administrator, APIGateway-User, and APIPortal-User depending on the roles assigned to the users. Based on the roles, user can access the API Gateway and API Portal products.

Note: Only the Cloud-Tenant-Administrators can create and modify users.

Teams: Users who share a common role or responsibility can be grouped as teams. When the Team feature is enabled, the members of teams can access the API Gateway assets of their teams and they can perform actions on these assets based on the functional privileges assigned to their teams.

Note: The APIGateway-User created in Software AG Cloud by Cloud-Tenant-Administrator are part of API-Gateway-Providers team in API Gateway. In API Gateway, the Cloud-Tenant-Administrator is known as API-Gateway-Administrator, who has necessary privileges to associate users to groups and teams from the User management section.

View User Details

You can view user details along with user groups.

To view user details

  1. Expand the menu options icon , in the title bar, and select User management.

  2. Select Users.
    A list of users appears.

    Note: The newly created users who have not logged into API Gateway do not appear in the list. But, if the API Gateway Administrator associates those newly created users to user groups in the Group tab, then those users are listed in the user list though they have not logged into Software AG Cloud.

  3. Click Login ID of the user that you want to view.
    The User details tab appears with basic information of the user along with user group details appears.

User Groups

API Gateway is shipped with the following predefined groups:

By default, API Gateway’s Administrator user, is part of Administrators and API-Gateway-Administrators group.

The table lists the privileges based on the user group.

Privileges API Gateway Administrator API Provider
Manage APIs Y Y
Manage aliases Y Y
Manage policy templates Y N
Activate/Deactivate APIs Y Y
Manage global policies Y N
Manage threat protection configurations Y N
Manage applications Y Y
Activate/Deactivate global policies Y N
Publish API to service registry Y Y
Manage packages and plans Y Y
Activate/Deactivate packages Y Y
Publish to API Portal Y Y
View administration configurations Y N
Execute service result cache APIs Y Y
Manage user administration Y N
Manage general administration configurations Y N
Manage destination configurations Y N
Manage promotions Y Y
Manage security configurations Y N
Manage system settings Y N
Manage service registeries Y N
Import assets Y Y
Export assets Y Y
Manage microgateways Y N
Manage Custom Dashboards Y N

Authentication and Authorization

API Gateway is primarily accessed using API Gateway user interface, which supports Basic authentication and SAML SSO.

You can also use REST APIs to manage API Gateway. To invoke the APIs, you must have the required functional privileges.

Note: You cannot delete predefined users, groups, and teams but you can delete the groups and teams that are created in API Gateway.

Adding a Group

You can add a user to a group. The group is associated to an access profile that contains functional privileges.

To add a group

  1. Expand the menu options icon , in the title bar, and select User management.

  2. Select Groups.

  3. Click Add group.
    The Group details tab appears.

  4. Provide the following information in the Basic information section:

    Field Description
    Name Name of the user group.
    Description A description for the user group.
  5. Click Save to save the group details at this stage and provide the group information for the user at a later time.

  6. Click Continue to associate Users >.
    Alternatively, you can click Users to go to the Users section.

  7. Provide the user’s login ID in the Login ID field.
    You can search users based on the characters provided in user name and email id. Select the required user from the list displayed.

  8. Click Save.

Modifying a Group

You can modify details for a selected group. You can add users to a group or remove them if required.

To modify a group

  1. Expand the menu options icon , in the title bar, and select User management.

  2. Click Groups.
    A list of groups appears.

  3. Select the group to be modified.
    The Group details tab appears.

  4. Click Edit.
    This opens the details of the selected group.

  5. Modify the basic information of the user.

  6. Modify the user details of the group.
    Edit or delete (by clicking the delete icon) the name of the existing user that appears.

  7. Click Save.

Deleting a Group

You can delete a group from the list that appears in the Groups section of the User Management page. Once a group is deleted, the user associated to the group is unable to perform the tasks associated with that group. Deleting a group does not delete the users associated with the group.

To delete a group

  1. Expand the menu options icon , in the title bar, and select User management.

  2. Click Groups.
    A list of groups appears.

  3. Click the Delete icon for the group that has to be deleted.

    Note: You cannot delete predefined groups.

  4. Click Yes in the confirmation dialog.